Wednesday, February 14, 2024
HomeFeatureKnow The Ways To Clear ITIL Certification In Your First Attempt

Know The Ways To Clear ITIL Certification In Your First Attempt

ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It consists of a set of best practices for IT Service Management (ITSM), which primarily concentrates on lining up IT services with business needs. ITIL Certification is one of the worthiest IT certifications. This certification helps individuals gain in-depth knowledge of managing business risk, strengthening customer relations, building a healthy IT environment, and establishing cost-effective practices.

With the ITIL framework, organizations can ensure that they deliver their services according to well-structured, well-defined, and consistent processes. ITIL offers extraordinary benefits, like quality improvements, service delivery improvement, customer satisfaction, better management metrics, increased flexibility, and reduced cost of service deployment and development.

The most recent and the latest release of ITIL is ITIL 4. This latest release was updated in February 2019 by Axelos to incorporate robust attention on maintaining ITSM’s agility, flexibility, and innovation. Today, this newest release of ITIL is implemented worldwide, and Axelos has declared to discontinue the use of ITIL3  by the beginning of 2022.

ITIL Certifications

ITIL Certifications are categorized into five different levels – Foundation, Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert, and Master.

ITIL Foundation Certification

The ITIL Foundation Certification is ideal for beginners, as it covers the most basic concepts of ITIL. There are no prerequisites to appear for this certification examination. The examination comprises 40 multiple-choice questions, and the time duration is 60 minutes. Individuals have to score 65% to pass the examination and earn the ITIL Foundation Certification.

ITIL Practitioner Certification

The ITIL Practitioner Certification is the new course included in the ITIL courses in 2016. This certification validates individuals for their practical knowledge and understanding of ITIL processes. The ITIL Practitioner Certification exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions, and the minimum passing score is 70%.

ITIL Intermediate Certification

This ITIL course involves several modules categorized into two parts – Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. Therefore, individuals can choose the desired modules and earn the certification by passing the respective examination.

Service Lifecycle modules are Service Strategy, Service Transitions, Continual Service Improvement, Service Design, and Service Operation. Service Capability modules are Operational Support and Analysis, Release, Control, and Validation, Service Offerings and Agreements, and Planning, Protection, and Optimization.

ITIL Expert Certification

This certification enables professionals to learn in-depth about ITL practices and processes spread across all ITIL disciplines. Professionals wishing to earn the ITIL Master Certification, The ITIL Expert Certification is a prerequisite for them.

ITIL Master Certification

Professionals with the ITIL Master Certification are able to apply all ITIL practices and processes in real-world conditions. This certification covers all ITIL practices and processes covered in the Foundation through Expert Certifications.

5 Effective Ways To Pass The ITIL Certificate Examination

Set The Target Date

The first thing to do before starting the ITIL Certification training is to set the target date for the examination. You must be extremely clear about the date on which you are going to attempt the certification exam. Deciding the date is important because you can gain the required skills and knowledge accordingly.

Outline The Study Plan

Once you fix the date for the certification exam, the next step is to prepare a well-organized study plan. The study plan should include the number of hours you will study in a day and week. It is essential to study at least six hours a week to pass any ITIL examination.

Study From The Proper Notes

Though your training organization provides detailed study material, you also have to refer to other sources, like books, websites, etc. The more sources you refer to, the more information you gain. Moreover, when you study from different sources, you can prepare your own study material.

Practice Harder

Practising several times makes you perfect. Therefore, the most significant tip to pass any examination is the first attempt is to practice. After you complete studying the entire syllabus, you can solve several mock tests and quizzes. Doing this will help you know the nature of questions and the time you spend answering each question.


Koenig Solutions is one of the most productive and effective training organizations that also provide ITIL training online. Individuals can clear ITI examinations, as they are trained with expert ITIL trainers. Moreover, it offers a provision for individuals to customize their ITIL course training as per the enterprise’s needs.

Also Read: Why ITIL Certification is Necessary for Further Professional Growth?

Abubakar is a writer and digital marketing expert. Who has founded multiple blogs and successful businesses in the fields of digital marketing, software development. A full-service digital media agency that partners with clients to boost their business outcomes.