Mechanic’s Liens In Colorado
Table of Contents
Mechanic’s liens If you’re wanting to perform a job as a contractor while you’re in the Rocky Mountain state of Colorado, then you’re going to more than likely going to want to file a mechanic’s lien. A mechanic lien isn’t an intent to pursue legal action against your clients, but in essence, it is there to protect you in the event that you don’t get paid by them.
The downside? You’ve only got a limited amount of time from the time that you finish a job before you can file one, and most importantly, depending on the state, you’ll have to inform the client/customer as well as all other parties involved that you will intend to file one if necessary – and Colorado is just one of those states that require you to provide a fair warning with a notice of intent. In this guide, we’ll give you a brief summary on how to file your Colorado mechanic’s lien!
Start with the Notice of Intent
Mechanic’s liens As stated above, you have to give plenty of notice to the landowner or customer in regards to the fact that you’re going to put a mechanic’s lien in place if necessary. In Colorado, you have to file your mechanic’s lien to the primary contractor and the property owner at least ten days before you file the lien itself (we recommend no more than 30 days just to be safe). The majority of people simply give their notice at the beginning of the project with the intent to notify the landowner before they start a job though – as this is a pretty good practice and can keep you from forfeiting your rights to file a mechanic’s lien.
Bring on the Enforcement mechanic’s liens
Mechanic’s liens When you’re working, of course, it’s easy to wish that filing a lien will get you paid, and most of the time it is. However, sometimes the lien won’t give you the outcome you wanted, and then you have to start really laying down the law. This means you’re going to practice enforcement of the lien and it basically shows the non-paying client that you’re serious that they either pay you – or you’re going to file for legal action. You only have 6 months to get this done from the time the project’s done (or the last day of work on the project).
Most of the time, the mechanic’s liens doing this will get the client to pay, but there are some times when they don’t, and you’ll have to file suit. However, in many cases, this will ensure that your work is paid for in a timely manner. If you don’t follow the guidelines of time when it comes to filing, you’ll lose all rights to file your claim.
Conclusion: How Can I Make Sure I Get Paid?
Mechanic’s liens Sometimes, you may even be able to file a 4-month extension on top of the first six months and requires a lot of paperwork. Fortunately, there’s one company that has helped millions get the job done, and they can help you as well! All you have to do is call BICA National Construction Notices and they’ll help you throughout the entire process!